This makeup look was inspired by Adele’s music video for her new single “Hello” a great song and the video is beautifully shot. Her makeup is so glamorous and I love her signature winged eyeliner. The video is shot in sepia so I can’t be sure which shades are used for her look but I made my own interpretation. This look can be quite complicated for beginners but once you get in a rhythm it’s quite easy to accomplish. Don’t let this technique scare you, just like everything else practice makes perfect; don’t get frustrated just keep trying and eventually you will get the hang of it.

image

Step One: This step is optional but if this is your first time doing a winged liner I would highly suggest you use scotch tape until you get the hang of it. Place the tape on the back of your hand first and then peel it off before you apply it to your face. This will make it less sticky and it won’t be so harsh on your face. Place the tape along your lower lash line up toward your brow bone. Be careful not to make the angle too severe.

image

Step Two: Using a Sigma E40 Blending Brush apply “Free Spirit” from the Tartelette Palette in windshield wiper motions into the crease from the outside corner to the inner corner concentrating the majority of color on the outside corner. Continue using the Sigma E40 to apply “Natural Beauty” blending from the inner to outer corner again concentrating on that outer corner. Then apply “Power Player” using a Sigma E25 to the outer corner, don’t blend that color further in than the middle of the eye; I apologize I did not get a picture of this step. This brush will give you more precision. Using all three colors will help to give this look some dimension and it makes blending easier.

image Step Three: Using a Morphe M409 Brush apply Maybelline Gel Liner in Blackest Black tight to your lash line. I personally like to start on the inner corner and work my way out; it will be easier and cleaner to do this in one motion. Once you start the wing, place your brush on the point and drag it back inward leaving a slight gap between the two lines making a very small V, you then need to connect that point to the line and fill it in. With this step you can make the liner as thick or as thin as you would prefer. After you’ve gotten the wing how you would like it you can remove the tape very carefully and you should be left with a clean line. imageStep Four: I used Rimmel Lash Accelerator in Black to apply a coat of mascara to my top lashes. Using any lash glue apply a thin layer to false eyelashes. I used Duo Eyelash Adhesive in Clear-White and Ardell Natural Demi Whispies. Adele has very glamorous lashes so you could definitely use something thicker and longer, I went with whispies because it is what I had and they work for all eye shapes. For close-set eyes I would suggest using something that is dramatically longer on the outside corners. After I apply the adhesive I give it about 30 seconds to dry before I apply it to the lid, this will make it tacky instead of runny. Use tweezers to tack down the outer corner first then the inner corner and then tack down the middle last. Give it a few seconds to dry and then use your finger to push your real lashes into your false lashes.  

image

Step Five: I then used a Morphe M439 Brush to apply Clinique Makeup Broad Spectrum in Neutral in circular motions to cover the entire face and blended it down the neck. When choosing a foundation it is more important to match your foundation to your neck.

image

Step Six: If you are going to use concealer this is when you would apply that. I personally did not use concealer because it makes my makeup look too heavy and I really can’t pull it off.

Step Seven: Adele has a very chiseled contour which is absolutely beautiful. I applied a Smashbox Contour Stick to the hollows of my cheeks, my temples, along my nose and all the way along my jaw line from one ear to the other. I then used a Makeup Geek Angled Stippling Brush to blend it all out. When blending out the cheeks it’s important to blend backward, don’t bring that contour down further than the outer corner of the eye. I then used the E.L.F. Blush Palette in dark, the blushes don’t have individual names but I used the shade in the upper right corner. Apply the blush to the apples of the cheeks and blend it back toward the temples, you can use any blush brush for this step; I used a Sonia Kashuk Brush in No. 113.     

image

Step Eight: I then applied my highlight with Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Moonstone (yes, mine is broken it’s so sad) and a Morphe M501 Brush to the tops of the cheeks, the top of the nose and the cupid’s bow.

image

Step Nine: I then combined “Dreamer” “Best Friend” and “Power Player” from the Tartelette Palette with a Sigma E30 Brush and applied it tight to the lower lash line. Don’t drop this down too far, by doing so it makes the look too smoky and it gives the illusion of raccoon eyes. After that I applied Rimmel Lash Accelerator to the bottom lashes. Applying mascara to the bottom lashes will even out the look and help your eyes look bigger.  

image

Step Ten: I then applied Colour Pop Lippie Stix in Lumiere to my lips. This shade is a really pretty plum. And that completes our Adele inspired look!

image

Leave a Reply

