July Monthly Favorites

Summer is moving by really quickly all because it seems every single day is filled with something to do or somewhere to go and someone to see. Time is precious during these fun-filled months, let’s not waste it and get right into this month’s list of favorites.

  • Oversized Fine Gauge Scarf by Free People– I am not sure I have the accurate words to express how much I love this scarf. I saw it at Nordstrom a year or so ago and I loved it, then I looked at the price tag and I immediately hung it back up, after thinking about it for months I went back to Nordstrom to purchase it, it was no longer there. It wasn’t available on their website either so I ordered it directly from Free People. It is an oversized scarf which makes it really versatile; therefore I like to travel with it. I use it as a scarf, a shawl, a blanket and I even bundle it up like a pillow. It is so soft and cozy and I love the leopard print.
  • Lush Charity Pot Hand and Body Lotion– When we were in Vegas my mother and I took The Forum Shops Lush by storm. It was our first trip to Lush and I think we were both pretty happy with it, considering the amount of money we spent. We both ended up purchasing The Charity Pot Lotion. It is named as such because that’s what it is. Each pot represents a different charity from various parts of the world, with each sale proceeds are donated to those charities. The scent is not something I would normally choose and I’m surprised by how much I do like it. The combination of oils used smells similar to baby powder but to my palette it isn’t overwhelming.
  • Becca’s Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Champagne Pop- I know that everyone in the beauty community is talking about this highlight but you will have to endure me talking about it too. For those of you who are unaware, Becca Cosmetics collaborated with YouTuber Jaclyn Hill to create this luminizing powder that is better than perfect. I have been following Jaclyn Hill on social media for a few years now and I think she is a beautiful person both inside and out, she is real; there is nothing fake about her kindness and the girl knows her shit. It was very smart of her to do this collaboration, Becca’s formula is already amazing and Jaclyn Hill created this shade to compliment so many different skin tones. On my skin it accents my cheekbones and brow bones in a gold dust with a very slight undertone of pink, I do detect a tiny hint of glitter but to me it’s slightly more iridescent than shiny. It also makes for a really beautiful eye shadow. I absolutely love that feeling when makeup is still so beautiful at the end of the day that you are sad to wash it off. Well done Jaclyn Hill, you are a very smart cookie! This product is exclusive to Sephora and it is a limited edition.
  • Daisy by Marc Jacobs– This is my first time using this perfume, I got it as a free sample when I ordered Champagne Pop. It pairs really beautifully with my Charity Pot Lotion and the two together smells like Chanel No. 5 which makes a girl feel so beautiful.
  • Luminous Crème Lipstick in Musk by Bite Beauty– Love it! Perfection! It is the perfect nude for me. It is a pale pink with a slight blue undertone which is very easy to wear everyday with any look. I think it is going to look gorgeous on anyone who tries it, it’s that versatile.
  • Cleansing Micellar Water by Simple– Thank you Ingrid Nilsen! At night I wash my face with Purity by Philosophy and then I put this water on a cotton ball and wipe away any access oil or makeup, the way you would with any toner but I don’t have to rinse my face afterwards. Some toners leave a slimy trail on your skin and it makes it feel slightly sticky; therefore you rinse your face again before you apply lotion or face cream. This stuff does not do that and to me it doesn’t smell like anything, which is so nice in a toner. I also use it after I wash my face in the morning if I have any mascara left on my eyes afterwards; and again, no rinsing.
  • An Unquiet Mind By Kay Redfield Jamison– I love to read non-fiction books about mental disorders or psychological disorders. In general most of the interesting books were written by psychologists about notorious serial killers or famous criminals all trying to discover what makes them tick. I came across this book while I was reading an online blog about Bi-Polar Disorder that mentioned it. I ordered it from Amazon and I finished reading it in two days. Kay Redfield Jamison is a very well educated psychologist who has had a very successful career but what is interesting about this book is that you discover Kay herself suffers from manic depression AKA Bi-Polar Disorder; a fact that she tried to hide from her patients and her colleagues for years only to reveal herself by writing this book. It is very honest and informative, I really got a sense of how real the struggle is for someone with such a serious illness. It is easy for those of us who have never had to deal with something so challenging to judge people we don’t know when we see them on the streets or in public acting insane or obnoxious. They scare us or disgust us because “there’s something wrong them” and immediately we write them off; we may even make unjust comments about what they do and don’t deserve. Next time before you judge, think about the fact that it is likely they had no say in their circumstance. We weren’t all born perfect and you should thank whatever God you believe in if you were fortunate enough to be born healthy.

That concludes my monthly favorites list. Don’t forget to follow my blog for a new post every Monday. Also, leave me your list of favorites in the comments below; I’d love to know!!! I hope all of you are out there thriving; having a wonderful summer full of exciting things, stay happy and healthy!

Leave a Reply

