May Monthly Favorites

I am flabbergasted that it is now June! The summers always seem to gush by so quickly and in Minnesota it can still be chilly in May and sometimes into June as well. But even so I always consider it officially summer at the beginning of June. Over the last month I’ve been trying to minimize my cosmetics/beauty collection and all that really means is that I’m throwing away some old products that have either expired or gone rancid and giving away things that I no longer use. I haven’t done much shopping lately since I will be traveling a lot this summer and I’m squirreling away any extra cash for my adventures.

With those two things in mind I have recently re-acquainted myself with a few products that I’d forgotten I owned and now I’ve fallen in love with them all over again. So without further ado let’s get to this month’s list.

image

1.) Hoola Bronzer by Benefit- The best thing about this bronzer is that I have owned it for three years and I still have not hit pan yet and I used it very consistently for the first two years I owned it. It’s a very easy bronzer to work with because it’s extremely blendable so if you have a tendency to be a bit heavy-handed it will blend out really beautifully. I would recommend it to someone with fair skin like myself because it’s not particularly dark. My vacation tan is fading and I haven’t had much of a chance to get outside this spring because it just hasn’t been warm enough yet so this is a really great bronzer for that transition period when you want to look a little sun-kissed during the spring. I would recommend a big fluffy brush for application if you want just a tiny bit of color. But if you are going to want to contour with this product then I would suggest an angled blush brush (Makeup Geek sells a great one).

2.) Perfectly (UN) Done Hairspray by TRESemme- This is a new product that I bought at the beginning of the month based off of a recommendation after chopping off 8 inches of my hair (scary, right?). In fact I also bought the majority of the line but this is the only product that stood out to me as really special. I love the longevity of this hairspray. I style my hair either by using a curling wand or a straightener and I finish with this hairspray and my hair stays in place all day, no joke. I also really love how it does not make my hair crunchy the way all hairspray does (and no that is not an exaggeration), ALL other hairspray will make my hair crunchy and my style usually won’t last more than a few hours. I would suggest everyone give it a try because it is affordable, widely available and I personally think it is awesome.

3.) The Wet Brush- Okay, I can’t even express how much I like this brush and yes I understand that may seem superficial to a lot of people but holy crap you guys…I love this thing! My hairstylist suggested I use this after my last appointment because I had some serious lightening done on my hair, which is hard on anyone’s hair but my hair gets really snarled and it gets painful trying to brush it out. I had been using a Tangle Teezer, (for those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s a brush with varying sized bristles that fits in the palm of your hand) but now I’m ready to throw that away and only use the The Wet Brush. I will be perfectly honest and say that I’m not really sure what it is about this brush that makes it so amazing but I think it’s because the bristles are really flexible and they don’t bend or break the way plastic bristles do.

4.) Drying Lotion by Mario Badescu- I had a major breakout this last week. I can’t say for sure what caused it but my best guess is an over consumption of soda…yes Mom I hear you, soda is bad for my skin, I get it. I am sure I’m not the only one, but my skin goes crazy if I drink too much soda and my mother loves to remind me of that even as I’m enjoying my tasty beverage. I find that even if I drink equal amounts of water and soda in the same day I cannot trick my skin. But sometimes I get a craving for soda, so when I have a breakout I stick to my regular skin care routine but after I’ve applied my moisturizer for the night I apply this drying lotion and leave it on overnight and by morning it has sucked all the oil out of the zit or pimple or white head, whatever it may be and it heals much faster than when I forgo the drying lotion. I will warn you it stings a little when you first put it on but this stuff is the best thing I’ve ever used for pimples.

F.Y.I.- When I wake up in the morning after using the drying lotion, I’ll wash my face like usual then I apply my face lotion and afterwards I use a dab of Cortizone 10 to help with the redness and inflammation, works like a charm. Some people will tell you to use a Eucalyptus Essential Oil but when you’re trying to prevent acne (aka-an oil buildup) it’s not the best solution to add more oil where you’re trying to get rid of the oil, it works better for bug bites or rashes.

5.) Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige- The main character is the other girl from Kansas named Amy Gumm. At the beginning of the story she gets swept away to Oz only to discover it is not the same Oz that she knows from movies and storybooks. It is the Oz ruled by Dorothy Gale, who is hungry for more power. Amy Gumm gets recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked and is trained for a very specific mission. I think it’s a great story, maybe a little predictable at times but I think it’s an edgy twist on a classic fairytale.

That’s all that I have to share for you this month. Comment below and let me know what your favorite things were this month, I’d love to know!

2 thoughts on “May Monthly Favorites

Leave a Reply

