An Everyday Makeup Tutorial

I have a passion for all things beautiful, whether it’s an apple tree in full bloom, the un-prejudice giggle of a child or a perfect nude lipstick. Overall I appreciate who I am as a person I have no desire to change who I am, and believe me when I say that I’ve come a long way in order to say that honestly about myself. I know it is easy for us to see the inner beauty in others but that it is hardest for us to see it in ourselves. That can only come with time and an honest heart. You have to honor yourself by being honest with the world about who you are. If there are things you can’t face, don’t let that be one of them. Be true to who you are, don’t hide from it; life is too short to spend it feeling miserable.

Inner beauty means something different for everyone, we are all made to be dissimilar and there is no shame in that. All of us are unique and that’s something to be celebrated not discouraged. I believe that art is derived from an individual’s inner beauty and that we all choose to express it in different ways. For me, I like to express it through makeup. That’s what I have for you today, a makeup tutorial. This look is subtle and a great everyday look. It is very neutral so it can be worn by all skin tones and eye colors. I will be telling you what products I used but of course you can alter my choices with your own. I know it seems like a lot of steps, but it’s really easy and anyone can achieve this look.

Step One: The most important part of makeup application is your canvas. You need to start with a clean, moisturized and dry face. Do not attempt to apply your foundation before your moisturizer has completely absorbed into your skin, otherwise your makeup won’t settle, it will only smear and melt. I usually wash my face, apply my moisturizer and then I get dressed for the day and typically by the time I’ve done that my face is dry and I’m ready to start applying makeup.

image

Step Two: I apply lip balm to my lips. This helps to avoid any foundation from settling onto my lips. There are people who like to cover their lips with their foundation as well, if that’s what you like then by all means go for it. I usually use Sugar Advanced Therapy by Fresh because it is extremely hydrating but any lip balm will do.

image

Step Three: For foundation I am going to use Makeup Forever HD Foundation in N130. I love this foundation because it is buildable so I can use it day to day with minimal coverage but I can also build it up for a heavier coverage if I know I’m going to be photographed a lot or I’m going for a really dramatic look. Foundation is one of the hardest products to purchase because there are so many brands, formulas, cover ranges, colors and tones to choose from and I know how overwhelming it can be. I would strongly suggest that anyone go to a specialty store like Ulta or Sephora and seek help from an associate. They are trained makeup artists and they will be able to help find the perfect foundation for you and I know Sephora will give you a full refund within a week if you find the product just doesn’t work for you. Trust me; it will make your life so much easier. I applied my foundation with a Sigma F80 Flat Top Kabuki brush in circular motions this helps to keep the foundation looking natural. The Sigma F80 is an amazing brush. It is constructed with synthetic fibers so it doesn’t absorb the product. Sigma has grown immensely over the years due to a lot of endorsement from beauty bloggers and vloggers but their products speak for themselves. They currently only have one store front which is located in the Mall of America in Bloomington, MN but you can get all of their products online at www.sigmabeauty.com

image image

Step Four: I used Laura Mercier Eye Basics in Wheat to cover my blemishes and I blended it out with a Beauty Blender. It’s best to use a thick concealer for blemishes because it will last longer. This concealer is meant to be an under eye product but for me personally it’s too thick and it worked better for blemishes. For my under eyes I used Maybelline’s Instant Age Rewind in Light Pale using the Beauty Blender in dabbing motions, swiping the makeup will cause it to settle into the fine lines under your eyes and it will have the opposite effect of what you are trying to accomplish. I recommend using one shade lighter than your foundation for any under eye concealing because you want to cover up those dark circles by brightening the area.

image

Step Five: I then set my concealer by mixing MAC Pro Shaping Powder in Emphasize and Soft Focus with a Sigma F35 Tapered Highlighter. Any powder will do as long as it’s the correct shade.

.

 

 

 

 

imageStep Six: For my cheeks I used Makeup Geek Blush in Spellbound and I applied it with a Sigma F20 which is a big, dense fluffy brush and it’s actually a powder brush but I like using it for quick applications when I don’t want to be too precise. This blush is subtle and a really nice pale pink that is good for everyday wear. Again any blush will do for this look but we’re trying to achieve a nice everyday look so try to avoid being too heavy handed with your blush.

image Step Seven: I used the Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Eyeshadow Palette by Tarte for my eyes. I mentioned this palette in my March favorites so I wanted to show you a look in case any of you were serious about purchasing it. I started by applying “super mom” with a Sigma E40 Tapered Blending brush which is a big fluffy eyeshadow brush, all over the lid in windshield wiper motions. This shade isn’t going to make much of an impact on its own but it helps to cover up any veins and it gives us a nice surface to begin.

Second, I applied “force of nature” with the same E40 brush right above the crease from the outer corner to the inner corner in the same windshield wiper motion. This shade is a really nice pale pink that is slightly brown in tone and it gives the eye a little definition and it looks great on its own if that’s all you were looking for or if you are in a hurry to get ready in the morning.

But if you’re looking for more definition the next step is to apply “power player” right on the crease, this shade is a cool taupe. You want to start with a heavy hand on the outside of the crease and blend inward, this is going to carve out that crease and really make your eye pop, I used a Sigma E25 blending brush it’s bristles are shorter and a little more dense than the E40 because we want to be more precise with where we apply this color.

image

Next, I applied “caregiver” with a Sigma E20 Short Shader brush below the crease this is a really pretty pale pink shade that gives us more dimension to the crease to help open up the eyes. Afterwards I went back in with that second brush and without any additional product I blended the two colors together concentrating on that outer crease.

Lastly, I lined my lower lash line with “best friend” which is a nice brownish purple using that same Sigma E20. You want to keep your brush really close to that lash line and don’t make it too thick or it will start to look like raccoon eyes.

image Step Eight: Before applying my mascara I curled my lashes using an eyelash curler that I got at the drugstore. I’ve had it so long and I’m sorry I don’t know what brand it is but, they’re all pretty much the same. I used Rimmel Lash Accelerator in Black Noir on both my upper and lower lashes. Applying mascara to your bottom lashes is going to help open up that eye even more.

 

 

image

Step Nine: For my lips I used Maybelline Color Sensational in the shade Warm Me Up, this is a perfect match for my lips but this eye look is so neutral that you can use any lipstick your heart desires.

Step Ten: For my last step I sprayed my entire face with Mac Fix+ to set my makeup. This helps my makeup last longer but it is totally optional and I really only set my makeup if it’s really humid outside or I know I’m going to be wearing it for a long duration but it is not necessary for an everyday look.

image

If you stuck around for that entire tutorial I hope you guys enjoyed. Again, you do not have to go out and buy these exact products if you already have something similar then of course make substitutions that will suit your needs. That’s the wonderful thing about makeup there is a lot of it in this world and therefore everyone can find something that works great for them and less so for someone else so just be creative and have fun with it. Please comment below if there’s a look you guys would like to see in future tutorials and I will be more than happy to accept the challenge.

Leave a Reply

