Let’s Begin

How to start a blog… What the hell do I know about starting a blog? What is a blog? How does it work? Who in this world would want to hear what I have to say about anything? Where do I even begin? What would I write about? Why would anyone care?

All good questions and all of which I have absolutely no answers to. This world is full of so many spectacular and wonderful things to see, taste, hear, smell, touch and blah blah blah. But more importantly… Read. There are so many beautiful pieces of the written word, both fiction and nonfiction. So many topics to explore that I get anxiety narrowing it down to just one, but the greatest thing about writing is that it runs parallel to life and really has no limits.

Life is incredible for lots of reasons but ironically it is mostly because there are infinite possibilities to it. So why not pick life as my topic? Now before you even ask, I want to make one thing perfectly clear. I am aware that in the vast spectrum of this universe I am no one of any spectacular consequence. I don’t have magical powers, or great talent. I’m not a celebrity or a world traveler. I’m not a billionaire, a supermodel, a rockstar or an Oracle. I’m not one of the cool kids and I have been told that I don’t have an impressive taste in music.

If you recall what I said earlier “why would anyone care?” To be completely honest, next to no one will. But if there is anyone other than my mother who does care, it would be because I’m just like you. Yes, you the one actually reading this. I am no different or better than anyone in this world. I was raised in a middle-class family in the Midwest and it really does not get any more average than that. I work a thankless job day in and day out just like you. I have struggles, just like you. I have bills to pay and deadlines to meet, just like you. I put my pants on one leg at a time, just like you.

But maybe, just possibly there may or may not be a chance that I see things a little differently than you. I might pick up on beauty in the most mundane things that you might otherwise overlook.

I’d like to believe, no I know that if we as humans are shown the quiet simplicity in our every day surroundings, our lives might just become slightly more blissful. I also know that it is sometimes helpful to know that there is someone out there who can relate to our endless struggles. There is joy to be had in knowing that we are not alone. I want to give you that comfort. I want you to know that like you, I just want my life to have meaning while maintaining my place in this world.

One thought on “Let’s Begin

  1. Well said Nicky. I think you have a great talent in seeing the beauty in things that some people miss. You are not alone either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

